Steam Car Club Forum
Steam Car Club : The Steam Car.....Forum
The Official Forum for the Steam Car Club
The fastest message board....ever.
Having trouble logging in or posting messages? Email forum@steamcar.net for help.
Goto Thread: PreviousNext
Goto: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
White car - fuels
Posted by: (---.asm.bellsouth.net)
Date: September 22, 2010 10:20AM

Hello all

As you have figured out by now, I'm new to all this still, so allow me an elementary question.

I know that others cars use a very clean fuel for the pilot. My car, a model E, has one fuel source for both pilot and main burner. I spoke with a Model E owner in the UK, and he uses petrol in his car. When I received my car, the tank was partially filled with Coleman gas and that is what I have still been using. However, it is not easy to buy in quantity and it is expensive.

What fuel is being used in the US (where I am)? Can I use unleaded petrol, or will this foul the vaporiser more quickly?

Thank you

Re: White car - fuels
Posted by: Old timer (86.112.40.---)
Date: September 22, 2010 12:02PM

Hi Dannirr what about using a petrol-diesel mixture. the diesel will make it hotter. Straight Petrol seems to work alright on the small runabouts, but the larger cars use a petrol diesel mixture.Or you could try kerosene. Old Timer

Date: September 22, 2010 04:23PM

Thank you. I spoke with a very good White source in the US, he advised Coleman fuel but if not practicle, straight unleaded gasoline. He goes for the cheapest no-name brand as they have less additives.

Posted by: (---.range86-158.btcentralplus.com)
Date: September 24, 2010 04:32PM

I run my later Whites on Hexane for pilot fuel
and unleaded 80% with diesel 20%.
The 1902 White I run entirely on unleade but recently I have been adding about 5% diesel with good effect. I think that the unleaded has recently been raised in octane as the 1902 car used to work well on pure unleaded but now needs the extra heat from the diesel.