Steam Car Club Forum
Steam Car Club : The Steam Car.....Forum
The Official Forum for the Steam Car Club
The fastest message board....ever.
Having trouble logging in or posting messages? Email forum@steamcar.net for help.
Goto Thread: PreviousNext
Goto: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
To run or not to run?
Posted by: (---.range86-132.btcentralplus.com)
Date: March 26, 2007 07:03AM

Hi everyone!

My name is phillip simms and i am currently a postgraduate student at Manchester University's department of Museology and am working on a paper on the operation of historic machinery. By historic machinery i mean vehicles, industrial machinery etc.

There has always been debate over the restoration and operation of these historic machines. When sources attempt to define the function of a museum, 'preservation' usually comes up. However, many argue that museums that operate historic machinery for display purposes are working against this purpose in that their operation effectively contributes to their destruction.

I'd love to hear what you all think of this debate- is it right for museums to operate? is operation against the ideal of preservation in general? what are your feelings in general on seeing these machines in museums, both static and operating?

I'm also interested in what counts as 'authentic' in machines and vehicles. I presume that many of them undergo constant repair throughout their lives, so what makes a machine or vehicle authentic? When does it stop being authentic?

Again i apologise if this isn't the correct place to ask these questions but i think it is important to hear the viewpoint of the enthusiast as compared to the museum professional!

Again, thankyou!!

Phillip

Re: To run or not to run?
Posted by: (---.wavecable.com)
Date: March 27, 2007 02:04AM