Steam Car Club Forum
Steam Car Club : The Steam Car.....Forum
The Official Forum for the Steam Car Club
The fastest message board....ever.
Having trouble logging in or posting messages? Email forum@steamcar.net for help.
Goto Thread: PreviousNext
Goto: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Steam powered Packard?
Posted by: adventurerjim (---.dsl1.kgm.az.frontiernet.net)
Date: January 18, 2008 07:17PM

I am an associate editor with Cars & Parts magazine as well as a freelance writer. As I often need illustrations for articles the office is filled with all manner of historic photos and related material.
I recently acquired some fascinating photos. They are of a late 1930s Packard with what appears to be a steam engine. As the car looks almost new the conversion is even more interesting.
I have posted two of the photos on my blog and will post the third this evening. I have also noted this find on several other forums and to date have two rough leads that point in the same direction.
The car was built in Massachusetts using a Stanley engine. As of about ten years ago the car still existed in the Boston area.
Here is a link to my blog - [route66chronicles.blogspot.com]
If you have ideas or thought on this car please let me know. Thank you.

Re: Steam powered Packard?
Posted by: (---.wavecable.com)
Date: January 19, 2008 12:41PM